Pillgrinns - Island Street

Self described ‘jangle punk provocateurs’, Huddersfield based Pillgrinns are made up of Matt Heuck (vocals/guitar), Thom Foster (bass) and Mars Robinson (drums).

Released 18/4/17, new single Island Street is packed with the promised jangly guitar. Cheerful riffs mixed with upbeat drums provide an energetic track with a slight shoegaze feel to it. As soon as the vocals kick in you can hear the influence of Joy Division and The Smiths, giving Island Street an distinct 80's vibe. Pillgrinns manage to pull it off though, the jangly guitar gives them a fresh edge.

#pillgrinns #islandstreet #singlereview #newmusic